Naughty Composer Jonathan Leshnoff
16 Apr 2010
David H Thomas – Clarinet & Classical Music

This weekend’s concerts of the Columbus Symphony include Tchaikovsky’s 6th Symphony, “Pathetique”, the unusual Beethoven Leonora No. 2, and Jonathan Leshnoff’s Double Concerto for violin and viola, with our Concertmaster, Charles Wetherbee on violin and Roberto Diaz, viola.

Jonathan was there for the rehearsal today, and he is the nicest composer you could ever meet. I also love his music. So when I complain about the following passage, it’s only lightly.

The passage in the photo below is nearly impossible to play well, since the tempo is so fast and the notes so constant as to prevent breathing. Luckily the two clarinet parts are identical in several measures, and as you can see from the following photo, we will alternate playing parts of the long sixteenth passages.


<July 2020>

Download Code

Redeem your download code here. You will need to sign in or create an account to receive your files. Thanks & enjoy!

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Charles Wetherbee to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Desmond: Take Five
Eryilmaz: Miniatures Set No.4
Bartók: Quartet for Strings no 5, Sz 102/BB 110
Fujiwara: Hands
Leshnoff: String Quartet No. 4
Brubeck: Blue Rondo A La Turk
Kern: Iron City
Piazzolla: Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (Four Seasons of Buenos Aires)

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore